- The current U.S. online Certified Kitchen Cook bundle is $60 and covers the course plus the examination.
- That price includes six months of online course access and one examination retake.
- The exam is 30 multiple-choice questions, one hour, 70% to pass, with no proctor required.
- Later retake charges, renewal fees, and CEU costs are not verified, so budget cautiously.
The Sticker Price: What $60 Actually Buys
The Certified Kitchen Cook (CKC) credential is earned through the START program from the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI). The current U.S. online product is sold by ServSafe Brands, and it is priced as a single bundle: $60 for the course and the examination together. There is no separate member and non-member tier published, so the number you see is the number most candidates pay.
That is a notably low price compared with many professional food-service credentials, and the structure is simple. You do not buy an application, an exam seat, and a study course as three separate line items. You buy one product, complete the START course, and sit the exam to earn the certification. If you are still deciding whether this is the right credential at all, our overview at What Is CKC Certification? explains what the program is and who it is built for.
Inside the Bundle: Course, Exam, and Retake
It helps to break the $60 into what each part delivers. The table below summarizes the verified details of the current U.S. online product.
| Component | What the Current Product Specifies |
|---|---|
| Price | $60 U.S. bundle (course and exam together) |
| Course access | Six months online |
| Exam format | 30 multiple-choice questions |
| Time limit | One hour |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Proctoring | No proctor required |
| Retake | One examination retake included |
The six-month access window
Your $60 includes six months of online access to the course. This is a study window, not a certificate lifespan. Candidates sometimes assume that "six months" describes how long the credential lasts. It does not. Access to the learning material and the validity of the certification you earn are two separate questions, and the public listing does not tie them together.
The included retake, and what it does not promise
The bundle includes one examination retake. The product does not state a retake limit, but that is different from promising unlimited free retakes. Treat the included retake as a single safety net. If you need more than that, assume any additional attempt could carry a separate charge, because later retake pricing is not published in the sources reviewed. For a sense of how demanding the test is before you lean on that safety net, see How Hard Is the CKC Exam?
Costs the Public Listing Does Not Price
A trustworthy cost breakdown should be honest about what is unknown. Several line items that candidates often ask about are simply not verified in the current public issuer sources, and it would be a mistake to guess at them.
Renewal, expiry, and CEUs
The current CKC-specific expiry and renewal requirements are unresolved. One occupational reference lists a five-year figure, while a regional provider indicates no recertification is needed. Neither lifetime certification nor a mandatory five-year term is asserted here. Renewal fees and any continuing-education unit amounts are likewise unverified. If you are budgeting for the long run, the safest approach is to confirm the current policy directly with the issuer before assuming the $60 is a one-time lifetime cost.
Experience and education prerequisites
Candidates often wonder whether they must pay for prior training, a degree, or logged work hours before they can enroll. Fixed degree, experience-hour, and reference minimums are not verified, and directory sites conflict on prerequisites. The START route is course-and-exam, so the practical gate is the $60 product itself. For a deeper look at eligibility language, read CKC Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Optional outside study materials
Anything beyond the bundle is optional. Many candidates add a practice resource to test themselves against the question style before sitting the real exam. You can try our CKC practice tests to gauge readiness at no extra cost to the official fee, then decide whether you need more review time.
Key Takeaway
Budget $60 as the confirmed baseline, and treat renewal, additional retakes, and CEUs as unknowns to verify with the issuer rather than costs you can safely rule out.
Matching the Fee to the Four Skill Areas
The START course is advertised as covering 18 key tasks, but only four task examples are publicly published. Those four examples form the preparation scope used throughout this site, and they are limited and unweighted, so no official percentage weights exist. The practical way to judge value for money is to see what each area asks you to know.
Domain 1: Explaining how to use basic kitchen tools and equipment, including knives
Expect questions about choosing and describing the right tool for a task and handling knives correctly.
- Identifying common tools and their purposes
- Basic knife handling and care concepts
- Explaining equipment use in plain terms
Domain 2: Converting standard recipes based on portion size and number of portions
This is the most calculation-oriented area, so it rewards comfort with simple scaling.
- Scaling a recipe up or down for a different number of portions
- Adjusting for portion size
- Checking that converted quantities still make sense
Domain 3: Handling special guest situations, including substitutions
These questions test judgment and communication when a guest needs something different from the standard menu.
- Responding to substitution requests appropriately
- Recognizing when a situation needs extra care or escalation
- Keeping the guest informed and the kitchen consistent
Domain 4: Demonstrating basic kitchen safety and sanitation guidelines
Safety and sanitation form the foundation of any kitchen role and are a natural focus of review.
- Core sanitation habits
- Basic safe-work practices around heat, blades, and surfaces
- Keeping food and workspaces clean
Because official scored weights are unpublished, we do not claim any one area carries more points. For a fuller walk-through of each area, see CKC Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas.
A Budget-Conscious Pacing Plan
Since the included six-month access window and a single retake are the only built-in cushions, it pays to pace your preparation so you pass on the first attempt and keep the retake in reserve. A short plan tied to the four areas can help. For a fuller strategy, our CKC Study Guide goes deeper.
Safety and sanitation first
- Work through Domain 4 early, since it underpins everything else
- Note terms you cannot yet explain from memory
Tools, equipment, and knives
- Cover Domain 1 and practice describing each tool's use
- Pair reading with a short self-quiz
Recipe conversion practice
- Spend extra time on Domain 2 scaling exercises
- Redo problems until the arithmetic feels routine
Guest situations and full review
- Cover Domain 3 scenarios and substitutions
- Take a timed run of 30 questions in one hour
Scheduling the calculation-heavy area in the middle gives you time to repeat it, while finishing with a timed run mirrors the real one-hour limit. Because the 70% threshold applies to the whole exam, a weak area can be offset, but there is no published guarantee of how scoring is distributed. Our page on the CKC passing score explains what 70% means across a 30-question test.
Avoiding the Wrong-Credential Price Trap
The acronym "CKC" is shared by several unrelated credentials, and search results can mix them together. This is the single most common way candidates end up with wrong cost information. The price, format, and policies on this page apply only to Certified Kitchen Cook through AHLEI's START program. If a source mentions exam fees, dates, or pass rates that differ from the $60 bundle described here, it may be describing a different certification entirely. To keep the terminology straight, see What Does CKC Stand For?
Judging Whether $60 Is Worth It
Whether the fee is worthwhile depends on your goals. For entry-level and early-career kitchen workers, a recognized credential can help signal baseline knowledge of tools, portioning, guest service, and safety to employers. The low price lowers the barrier, and the structured course gives you a defined path rather than ad hoc learning. We discuss the broader picture in Is the CKC Certification Worth It?, and if you are curious about roles that value the credential, CKC Jobs covers where it tends to be relevant.
Because pass rates are not publicly disclosed, you cannot rely on a statistic to predict your odds, which is another reason to practice before you sit the exam. Our CKC pass rate article explains what is and is not known. When you are ready to test yourself, start with the CKC Exam Prep practice tests.
Frequently Asked Questions
The current U.S. online bundle is $60 and includes the START course and the examination. No separate member or non-member price tier is published.
Yes, the bundle includes one examination retake. The product does not state a retake limit, but that does not mean unlimited free retakes. Charges for additional attempts are not verified.
The bundle includes six months of online course access. This is a study window and should not be confused with how long your certification remains valid.
Current CKC-specific expiry, renewal requirements, renewal fees, and CEU amounts are unverified. Different references conflict, so confirm the current policy with the issuer before assuming a one-time cost.
The current global online product states no proctor is required, so you do not need to budget for a testing-center appointment. The exam is 30 multiple-choice questions in one hour with a 70% passing score.