CKC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CKC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • The Certified Kitchen Cook exam has a 70% passing score across 30 multiple-choice questions.
  • The current global online product specifies a one-hour exam and no required proctor.
  • The USD 60 bundle includes six-month course access and one examination retake.
  • Official domain weights and scored/unscored question breakdowns are not published, so study all four areas evenly.

The Number: 70% on a 30-Question Exam

The Certified Kitchen Cook (CKC) credential is earned through the START course-and-exam route offered by the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI), with the current U.S. product sold through ServSafe Brands. The passing score is 70%. The exam consists of 30 multiple-choice questions, and you complete it online within one hour.

That is the whole scoring rule the issuer publishes. There is no scaled-score system, no published curve, and no per-domain minimum disclosed for this product. If you are trying to understand how this exam compares in difficulty to others, our guide on how hard the CKC exam is covers that angle, and the CKC pass rate article explains why an observed candidate pass rate cannot currently be quoted.

Scope note: This article is about the Certified Kitchen Cook credential from AHLEI's START program only. Other credentials share the "CKC" acronym, and their scoring rules, fees and timelines do not apply here. If you want to confirm which credential this is, see what CKC stands for.

What 70% Means in Questions

With 30 multiple-choice questions, the arithmetic is simple if every question counts equally toward your score. At 70%, that works out to 21 correct answers out of 30. You could miss up to nine questions and still reach the threshold.

A caveat matters here, though. The issuer does not publish whether all 30 questions are scored or whether some are unscored items used for test development. Many certification exams include unscored questions, but this product's scored/unscored breakdown is not disclosed. So 21 out of 30 is the clean working number, but you should treat it as an approximation rather than a guaranteed cutoff. If any items are unscored, the exact count of questions you need would shift slightly in ways candidates cannot see.

ItemPublished Detail
Passing score70%
Number of questions30 multiple-choice
Working target if all items count21 correct (arithmetic, not an issuer statement)
Time allowedOne hour (current global online product)
ProctorNone required (current global online product)
Scored vs. unscored breakdownNot published
Observed candidate pass rateNot published

Exam Format and Conditions

The format is intentionally approachable. Thirty questions in one hour gives you an average of two minutes per question, which is generous for multiple-choice items that test practical kitchen knowledge rather than long calculations or case essays.

Time and Proctoring

The current global online product specifies a one-hour exam and states that no proctor is required. You may see older regional records mention a 120-minute window or school/paper-based administration. Those historical arrangements do not override the current online product, so plan around the one-hour timer if you are taking the online version sold today.

Open-Book and Calculator Rules

The product page does not specify whether the exam is open-book or whether a calculator is permitted. Because those policies are unverified, the safe approach is to prepare as though neither is allowed. That matters most for the recipe-conversion domain, where you should be comfortable doing portion math by hand. Before you begin the exam, read any instructions displayed on screen, since those take precedence over anything a third-party article can say.

Practical implication: A one-hour limit with no proctor does not make the 70% bar casual. Treat the exam as a closed-book assessment unless the on-screen instructions clearly say otherwise. Our CKC exam dates and scheduling guide covers how online access timing fits around your plans.

What the Issuer Does Not Publish

Candidates searching for the "exact" passing score deserve a clear picture of what is known and what is not. The 70% threshold is published. Several other details that candidates often ask about are not.

  • Domain weights: Official examination weights and the largest scored domain are unpublished.
  • Scored/unscored allocation: Not disclosed.
  • Candidate pass rate: Not publicly disclosed.
  • A dated exam outline: The product SKU does not come with a dated outline document.
  • Full task list: The course advertises 18 key tasks but publishes only four examples.

Any site that quotes a specific pass percentage, a precise number of questions per domain, or a "most heavily weighted" domain for this exam is going beyond what the issuer has made public. We will not do that here. Where this article offers study guidance by domain, it is editorial planning advice, not an official blueprint.

How the Four Content Areas Feed Your Score

The four headings below are the four public examples of tasks in the START preparation course. They are limited, unweighted preparation scope. They are not a complete list of the advertised 18 tasks and not a weighted exam blueprint. Because you cannot know how many of your 30 questions come from each area, the sensible strategy is to reach solid competence in all four rather than gambling on a favorite. For a deeper walkthrough, see the complete guide to the CKC content areas.

Domain 1: Explaining how to use basic kitchen tools and equipment, including knives

Expect questions that ask you to identify the right tool for a task and describe safe, correct use.

  • Matching common knives and tools to their intended uses
  • Safe handling, carrying and storage of knives
  • Basic equipment operation and care in a working kitchen

Domain 2: Converting standard recipes based on portion size and number of portions

This is the most calculation-heavy area, and the one most likely to cost points if your math is rusty.

  • Scaling ingredient quantities up or down for a different number of portions
  • Adjusting for a change in portion size
  • Working with fractions and unit measures without a calculator

Domain 3: Handling special guest situations, including substitutions

Scenario-style questions are common in this area, rewarding judgment as much as recall.

  • Responding to guest requests that change a standard dish
  • Choosing appropriate substitutions while communicating clearly
  • Recognizing when to involve a supervisor

Domain 4: Demonstrating basic kitchen safety and sanitation guidelines

Often the most intuitive area for working cooks, but precision with terminology still matters.

  • Personal hygiene and handwashing expectations
  • Preventing cross-contamination during prep and service
  • Basic safe-handling practices for tools, surfaces and food

The course also describes general hospitality knowledge and soft-skills training without a detailed public outline, and exhaustive exam coverage remains unverified. Treat the four areas above as a floor for your preparation, not a ceiling.

Retake Mechanics and the USD 60 Bundle

Understanding the score is easier when you know what happens if you fall short. The current U.S. offering is a USD 60 course-and-exam bundle. No separate member and non-member price tiers are published. The bundle includes six-month online course access and one examination retake.

Two clarifications prevent common misunderstandings:

  • The product states no retake limit, but that is not the same as unlimited free retakes. Only one retake is described as included. Charges for later retakes are unverified.
  • Six-month course access is an access window for the training. It is not the validity period of the credential itself.

For the full financial picture, including what to budget if you need an additional attempt, see our CKC certification cost breakdown. Because one retake is bundled in, a first attempt that falls just short is recoverable without an extra purchase, which lowers the stakes of your initial sitting.

Key Takeaway

Do not burn your included retake on a rushed first attempt. With only one bundled retake and unverified charges beyond it, schedule your first sitting only after you are consistently scoring comfortably above 70% in practice.

Setting a Realistic Practice Target

Because the passing mark is 70% and the exact scored-question count is unknown, aim to clear the line with room to spare. Candidates who practice right at 70% are betting on a good day. A practice target in the low-to-mid 80s gives you a cushion against unfamiliar wording, an unlucky distribution of questions across domains, and test-day nerves.

A useful way to work: take a full-length timed practice set of 30 questions, then break your results down by domain rather than just looking at the total. If your overall score is 80% but nearly all your misses are recipe-conversion questions, the real picture is a weak area that could sink you if the live exam happens to lean on it. The CKC practice test is built to support exactly this kind of domain-level review, and our CKC study guide walks through how to turn missed questions into a targeted review list.

Reading Your Practice Results Honestly

  • Count a question as missed if you guessed correctly without being able to explain why.
  • Redo any set where you scored under 70% before moving on.
  • Track recipe-conversion errors separately, since they often come from arithmetic slips rather than knowledge gaps.

One Domain-Based Study Sequence

The plan below sequences the four content areas by the type of effort each demands, not by any official weighting, since none is published. It assumes you are working through the START course alongside practice questions inside the six-month access window.

Week 1

Domain 2 first: recipe conversions

  • Start with the area that rewards repetition and exposes math gaps early
  • Practice scaling recipes by hand until it feels routine
Week 2

Domain 1: tools, equipment and knives

  • Review tool-to-task matching and safe knife handling
  • Revisit a few conversion problems to keep them fresh
Week 3

Domains 3 and 4: guest situations and safety

  • Work through substitution and special-request scenarios
  • Review safety and sanitation terminology and procedures
Week 4

Timed full-length practice

  • Take 30-question sets in one hour and review by domain
  • Sit the real exam only after consistent scores well above 70%

If you want a condensed reference to keep nearby during review, our CKC cheat sheet collects the must-know facts in one place.

What Passing Earns You

Completing the START course and passing its exam earns Certified Kitchen Cook certification. The credential is aimed at people entering or advancing in kitchen roles in hospitality, and candidates often wonder how it translates to opportunities. Our pages on CKC jobs and the value of the certification examine that question, and the CKC salary guide addresses earnings.

One honest caution: the certificate's validity and renewal terms are unresolved in public sources. Some references suggest a five-year term, while a regional provider says there is no recertification. Current CKC-specific expiry, renewal requirements, renewal fees and continuing education amounts are unverified. We therefore do not assert a lifetime certification or a mandatory five-year term. Confirm the current policy with the issuer when you pass. For eligibility questions before you start, see CKC requirements. Fixed degree, experience-hour and reference minima are not verified, and directory claims about prerequisites conflict with one another.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the Certified Kitchen Cook exam?

The passing score is 70%. The current global online exam has 30 multiple-choice questions, so if every question counts equally, that equates to 21 correct answers. The scored/unscored breakdown is not published, so treat 21 as a working estimate.

How long do I have to finish the exam?

The current global online product specifies a one-hour exam. Older regional records mention a 120-minute window, but those do not apply to this online product, so plan around one hour.

What happens if I do not reach 70% on my first try?

The USD 60 bundle includes one examination retake. The product states no retake limit, but it does not promise unlimited free retakes, and the price of any additional retakes is unverified.

Are some domains worth more points than others?

Official examination weights are not published, and the largest scored domain is unknown. Prepare for all four content areas rather than guessing which will carry the most questions.

Can I use a calculator or my notes during the exam?

The product does not specify open-book or calculator policies, so neither should be assumed. Practice recipe conversions by hand and follow any instructions shown on screen at the start of your exam.

Ready to pass your CKC exam?

Put this into practice with free CKC questions across every exam domain.