CKC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CKC Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts

TL;DR
  • CKC here means START Certified Kitchen Cook from AHLEI; the exam is 30 multiple-choice questions in one hour.
  • The passing score is 70%, and the current online product states no proctor is required.
  • The USD 60 bundle includes six-month course access and one exam retake.
  • Four published course tasks anchor your prep: tools, recipe conversion, guest situations, and safety and sanitation.

Identity Check: Which CKC This Sheet Covers

The acronym CKC is shared by several unrelated credentials. This cheat sheet covers exactly one: the START Certified Kitchen Cook credential from the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI). The current U.S. course and exam are sold through ServSafe Brands. If you landed here looking for another certification that happens to abbreviate to CKC, the facts below will not apply to it.

If you are still orienting yourself, these companion pieces explain the basics: What Is CKC?, What Does CKC Stand For?, and What Is CKC Certification?. This page is the compressed version, built for a final review pass before you sit the exam.

Exam Format Snapshot

Everything below describes the current global online START CKC product. Where older regional records conflict, the current product wins for this preparation scope.

ItemWhat the current product states
CredentialSTART Certified Kitchen Cook (AHLEI)
Question count30 multiple-choice questions
Time limitOne hour
Passing score70%
ProctoringNo proctor required
Scored vs. unscored splitNot published
Observed pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Open-book / calculator policyNot specified by the product
Product SKU51-515-13-53-10-04-EN

Two practical notes follow from this table. First, a one-hour clock for 30 questions averages two minutes per item, which is generous for most multiple-choice questions but worth remembering when a recipe-conversion item requires several steps of arithmetic. Second, because the scored/unscored breakdown is unpublished, treat every question as if it counts.

For a deeper look at the cut score, see CKC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass. For difficulty context, read How Hard Is the CKC Exam?. Note that no observed pass-rate figure is published, so be skeptical of any site quoting one; CKC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explains what can and cannot be said.

Timer discrepancy: You may find directory listings or regional records mentioning a 120-minute window. That figure does not apply to the current global online START CKC product, which specifies one hour. Plan your pacing around 60 minutes.

Fees, Access Window and Retake Facts

The pricing structure is simple, which is part of the credential's appeal for entry-level candidates.

  • Price: USD 60 for the online course-and-exam bundle. No separate member and non-member tiers are published.
  • Course access: Six months of online access to the START course.
  • Retake: The bundle includes one examination retake. The product states no retake limit, but that is not the same as unlimited free retakes. Charges for later retakes are unverified.

The most common misreading on this topic is treating the six-month access window as the length of the credential's validity. They are different things. Course access tells you how long you can log in to study; it says nothing about how long the certification itself lasts. For the full cost picture, including what is and is not confirmed, see CKC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Retake planning: Because only one retake is bundled, do not burn your first attempt as a "practice run." Finish the course content and run through timed practice questions first, then sit the real exam.

Domain 1: Kitchen Tools and Knives

The first published course task is explaining how to use basic kitchen tools and equipment, including knives. The key word is explaining: expect scenario questions that ask which tool fits a job or what the correct handling is, not questions that merely ask you to name objects.

Domain 1: Explaining how to use basic kitchen tools and equipment, including knives

Know the purpose of common hand tools and equipment, and the safe, correct way to use each.

  • Match the knife or tool to the task (slicing, chopping, peeling, measuring, mixing).
  • Safe knife handling: stable cutting surface, sharp blades, cutting away from the body, carrying and storing knives properly.
  • Correct use of measuring tools for dry versus liquid ingredients.
  • Basic equipment awareness: what it is for, how to use it without injury, and when it needs cleaning.

A useful way to review: for every tool you can name, practice completing the sentence "I use this to ___, and I keep it safe by ___." That framing mirrors the explaining-focused wording of the task. Note that the course's full 18-task scope is not publicly itemized, so the four headings on this page represent published examples, not a complete blueprint.

Domain 2: Recipe Conversion Math

The second published task is converting standard recipes based on portion size and number of portions. This is the most math-flavored area of the exam and the one most likely to slow you down on the clock.

Domain 2: Converting standard recipes based on portion size and number of portions

Scale a recipe up or down accurately when the yield or the portion size changes.

  • Find the conversion factor: desired yield divided by original yield.
  • Multiply every ingredient quantity by that factor, not just the main ingredient.
  • Distinguish changing the number of portions from changing the size of each portion; both change total yield.
  • Keep units consistent when quantities grow, and watch for sensible rounding on small measures.

Because the product does not specify whether a calculator is permitted, prepare as though you will do the arithmetic by hand. Practice with simple factors first (doubling, halving, tripling), then move to awkward ones like converting a 12-portion recipe to 30 portions. If this is your weakest area, give it the most repetition; it rewards drilling more than memorization does. Our CKC Study Guide 2026 covers how to structure that repetition.

Domain 3: Special Guest Situations

The third published task is handling special guest situations, including substitutions. These are judgment-style questions: a guest has a need or request, and you choose the response that is safe, accurate and courteous.

Domain 3: Handling special guest situations, including substitutions

Respond to unusual guest requests while protecting guest safety and service quality.

  • Treat any dietary restriction or allergy concern as a safety matter, not a preference.
  • Make substitutions only when you can do so safely and accurately; when unsure, check with a supervisor rather than guess.
  • Communicate clearly and politely with the guest and with colleagues so the request is not lost between front and back of house.
  • Avoid cross-contact when preparing a modified dish.

The START course also describes general hospitality knowledge and soft-skills training, though without a detailed public outline. That is a signal to expect some questions where the best answer reflects service attitude and communication as much as technical kitchen knowledge. When two answer choices seem plausible, the one that prioritizes guest safety and clear communication is usually the stronger pick.

Domain 4: Safety and Sanitation

The fourth published task is demonstrating basic kitchen safety and sanitation guidelines. This area overlaps with Domain 1 (safe tool handling) and Domain 3 (allergen cross-contact), so mastering it pays off across the whole exam.

Domain 4: Demonstrating basic kitchen safety and sanitation guidelines

Show that you can work cleanly and safely in a food-production environment.

  • Personal hygiene: handwashing, clean uniforms, handling of illness and cuts.
  • Preventing cross-contamination between raw and ready-to-eat foods, and between allergen and non-allergen preparation.
  • Cleaning versus sanitizing: know the difference and the order they happen in.
  • Basic workplace safety: slips, burns, cuts, proper lifting, and safe equipment operation.

Key Takeaway

Safety and sanitation concepts show up inside questions about tools and guest requests, not just in their own category. Study them first and you gain points in three of the four areas.

For a fuller walkthrough of how these four areas fit together, see CKC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas.

What Is Still Unverified

A good cheat sheet is honest about its gaps. These items are not confirmed in the current public issuer information, so do not rely on any website, including this one, that states them as settled fact.

  • Scored weights: Official domain weights and the largest scored area are unpublished. The four domains above are unweighted course-task examples.
  • The other 14 tasks: The product advertises 18 key tasks but publishes only four examples. Nothing here reconstructs the missing titles.
  • Expiry and renewal: Sources conflict. One occupational database lists a five-year term, while a regional provider says there is no recertification. Current CKC-specific renewal requirements, fees and CEU amounts are unverified, and neither lifetime validity nor a mandatory five-year term is asserted.
  • Prerequisites: The route is the START course and exam. Fixed degree, experience-hour and reference minima are not verified, and directory claims about prerequisites conflict. See CKC Requirements 2026 for how to read those conflicting listings.
  • Exam dates: No dated exam outline is published, and the online product is not described as having fixed testing windows. CKC Exam Dates 2026 covers scheduling in more detail.
  • Open-book and calculator rules: Not specified by the product.
Before you pay: Review the current product page on the issuer's storefront and read the terms shown at checkout. That page, not a third-party summary, is the authoritative source for anything on the list above.

A Four-Week Review Order

If you have a month, sequence your review by how much each domain supports the others rather than by the order they were listed. This is the only study-method advice in this article, and it is tied directly to the CKC domains.

Week 1

Safety and sanitation first

  • Cover hygiene, cross-contamination, and cleaning versus sanitizing.
  • These concepts reappear in tool-handling and guest-situation questions.
Week 2

Tools and knives

  • Match tools to tasks and rehearse safe handling in your own words.
Week 3

Recipe conversion drills

  • Daily short sets of scaling problems, by hand, until the conversion factor method is automatic.
Week 4

Guest situations plus timed mixed practice

  • Work through substitution and allergy scenarios.
  • Finish with full 30-question, 60-minute timed sets on the CKC practice test.

Recipe math sits in week three so it gets the benefit of a couple of weeks of kitchen vocabulary first, but leaves a full week of timed mixed practice afterward. If math is your weak point, start the daily drills earlier and run them in parallel with the other weeks.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many questions are on the CKC exam, and how long do I get?

The current global online START Certified Kitchen Cook product specifies 30 multiple-choice questions and a one-hour time limit. The passing score is 70%. The split between scored and unscored questions is not published.

What does the CKC bundle cost, and what does it include?

The current U.S. online bundle is USD 60. It includes six-month course access and one examination retake. No retake limit is stated, but that does not mean retakes are free without limit, and charges for later retakes are unverified. See the CKC cost breakdown for detail.

Does the CKC certification expire?

That is unresolved. An occupational database lists five years, while a regional provider says there is no recertification. Current CKC-specific expiry, renewal requirements and CEUs are unverified. Do not confuse the six-month course access window with credential validity.

Is the CKC worth pursuing for a kitchen career?

It is a low-cost, entry-level credential that documents basic competence in tools, recipe scaling, guest handling and safety. Whether it pays off depends on your local employers and goals. Our ROI analysis, salary guide and CKC jobs overview explore that question without relying on invented figures.

Is the exam proctored, and can I use a calculator?

The current global online product states no proctor is required. It does not specify open-book or calculator policies, so confirm the rules on screen before you begin, and practice recipe conversion by hand to be safe.

Ready to pass your CKC exam?

Put this into practice with free CKC questions across every exam domain.